Moved To Tears

Imagehttp://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/10/daily-prompt-beauty/

The last time I was moved to tears was a few nights ago when my son said “I love you,” to my husband.  These unsolicited “I love you’s” are maybe one of the best sounds on earth.  I got one about a week ago while in the living room with my son and I gave him a bear hug, feeling like my heart would burst from joy.  The “I love you’s” come out of nowhere and when you least expect it.  When my son did it to my husband, they were watching late night TV together.  My husband was using the opportunity to relax after a long day of work and dinner time chores.  My son was thrilled to be hanging out with his Dad.  I was sitting at the kitchen bar, tending to something on my laptop.  The only noise in our home was the sound of Tree Fu Tom (a Sprouts show for kids) and then from down the hall I heard my son’s little, happy voice say “I love you Dad,” followed by a pause.  Then I heard my husband’s moved voice say “Aw thank you son, I love you, too.”  I know my husband had a lump in his throat as he responded and I instantly got a lump in my throat, too.  My eyes welled up with tears and I felt the full force of the beautiful love shared by parents and children.  Having older children I am fully aware of how this love goes through different phases, evolving differently with each child.  When was the last time you were moved to tears? -smilingbug

7 thoughts on “Moved To Tears

  1. Great post!
    I was moved to laughter the last time I said “I love you” to my 2 1/2 yrs old because she replied “I love you too” and then added with a twinkle in her eye: “I love you three”, I love you four”… and then burst into laughter!!!

    • That story is precious, thank you for sharing. She definitely expressed that she loves you more and more and in such an adorable way! Thank you for reading my blog and thanks for your comment.

  2. Pingback: Love and Tears of Joy | smilingbug

Leave a Reply

