Count Blessings

Image

Tis the day after Christmas and all through the apartment, not a creature was stirring except for counting many, many blessings- even the ones taken for granted most.  I saw a report on one of the five quadruple amputees from the Iraq war and he said “something can always be worse, I could have no mobility at all.”  That made me think of Eric LeGrand and his amazing positive attitude; he is such an inspiration.  It also made me wonder about the other four quadruple amputee victims from this war so I googled them.  I found the beautiful love story of Taylor Morris and his girlfriend.  Just looking at those images you can feel how happy he is to be alive, incredibly courageous and strong.  I also found Travis Mills’ story , talk about inner strength and human will.  Recent news of Newtown, CT and other shooting rampages have caused a long pause in my reflection on life and these war heroes did that to me as well.  Quadruple amputee Brendan Marrocco’s Dad said the “good thing” about their garage being flooded by Sandy was that it wasn’t finished yet.  That is quite a lesson in seeing the glass half full.  This morning I touched my husband’s face and appreciated my hand and fingers, I thought about the many people who can’t do that.  Then I got on twitter and saw Brian Whelan’s re-tweets of bratty young people complaining about their Christmas gifts, tweets that make your jaw drop because they didn’t like their gifts or got a black Ipad instead of a white one.  It’s easy to get complacent and take things for granted.  Let’s remember our many blessings and be grateful. -smilingbug

Leave a Reply

