Give Thanks

Image

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving Day.  I am so happy to be home with my family, not running out the door, not rushing to the bus or practice or lessons.  This is it, this is the best.  Free time with my kids, sleeping in, hanging out together, making menus and arts and crafts, loving life.  The reality for three days… For them: fighting over who cooks what, arguing about the arts and crafts being in the way or the muffins not being browned enough, screaming because they don’t get to spend days at their friend’s house, throwing things at each other when they’re frustrated, being bored, being annoyed, not wanting family time, hitting, swinging, hollering, picking, bickering, critiquing, crying, sitting in front of the computer for hours, staring at their Iphones, banging on doors, slamming doors, whining, screaming, hurting.  For me: up at 5AM with my toddler, up at 6AM with my baby, up at 7AM with a headache, talking, punishing, coping, helping, explaining, refereeing, washing laundry, folding laundry, shopping, unloading, taking a hot shower, taking Advil, coloring my hair, sending them to their room, hugging them, loving them.  For both of us: growing, feeling, healing, loving, hugging, sharing, experiencing, making up, baking, decorating, making crafts, watching funny movies, getting excited about the holiday and the fun it brings.  But “Wow” and that is a Clare Dumphey silent “Wow.”  Today I heard a newscaster say “let us give, let us forgive, let us give thanks” while wrapping up a story.  I look outside of our window and see the beautiful pink sunset sky.  I look around my home and I see my family I adore.  I remember the sadness for people who are ill, the violence in Gaza, the suffering in hospitals, the real misery for people in bad situations around the world.  Then I remember what Gloria said when we were laughing our pants off watching Grown Ups last night:

”Life can be difficult sometimes, it gets bumpy. What with family and kids and things not going exactly like you planned. But that’s what makes it interesting. In life the first act is always exciting. The second act… that is where the depth comes in.”

So “let us give, let us forgive, let us give thanks.”  Thank you. -smilingbug

Leave a Reply

